Sharing Your Truth Will Better Your Life

Here’s what happened when I shared mine in front of 300 people

Liz Porter

--

Image from Canva.com

A nervous wreck, I ran back to the bathroom for the third time. Breakfast wasn’t going to be an option.

I considered bailing several times that morning, but Elizabeth was counting on me, and I couldn’t let her down.

So I decided on the soft pink blazer, slid my bare feet into grey strappy sandals to pull the outfit together, grabbed my handbag and gunned it out of the driveway like a maniac

Pulling into the empty parking lot for the big event, I practically jumped from the car, eager for the day to be over.

Surrounded by three hundred co-workers and guests, I sat in the audience praying the sessions would run over their scheduled time. Distracted, I fumbled through my purse looking for a mint when Elizabeth took the stage to announce her guest speaker — shit, that’s me!

I smiled and made my way towards the stage with my heart racing as the audience clapped and cheered.

With a deep breath, I looked up from my notes to take in the sea of eyeballs and expectant faces.

What the hell was I thinking when I agreed to do this?

--

--

Liz Porter

Top Writer - Author - Founder of Boomerangs & the Advantage Medium Publications. Retired Boomer Writing with Truth & Humour to empower, educate and entertain!